The Seven Sacraments

The seven Sacraments were instituted directly by Christ and are administered by the Church. The exact form used to apply a given sacrament can vary somewhat but the basics always stay the same. These sacraments are: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist (communion), Reconciliation (confession), Marriage, Holy Orders (ordination to the priesthood or deaconate), and the Sacrament of the Sick.

In order to receive most of these sacraments it is ordinarily required that a person go through some period of preparation in order to insure the person understands the meaning of the sacrament, and to help them make a sound decision whether or not to receive the sacrament(s). Visit our Sacramental Prep page.

For Catholics, the Sacrament of Baptism is the first step in a lifelong journey of commitment and discipleship. Whether we are baptized as infants or adults, Baptism is the Church's way of celebrating and enacting the embrace of God. Visit our Sacramental Prep page for details on having your child baptized.

Catholics believe the Eucharist, or Communion, is both a sacrifice and a meal. We believe in the real presence of Jesus, who died for our sins. As we receive Christ's Body and Blood, we also are nourished spiritually and brought closer to God. Visit our Sacramental Prep page for information on our First Holy Communion program.

The Catholic Sacrament of Reconciliation (also known as Penance, or Penance and Reconciliation) has three elements: conversion, confession and celebration. In it we find God's unconditional forgiveness; as a result we are called to forgive others. Visit our Sacramental Prep page for information on our First Penance program.

Confirmation is a Catholic Sacrament of mature Christian commitment and a deepening of baptismal gifts. It is one of the three Sacraments of Initiation for Catholics. It is most often associated with the gifts of the Holy Spirit. Visit our Sacramental Prep page for information on our Confirmation Program.

For Catholics, the Sacrament of Marriage, or Holy Matrimony, is a public sign that one gives oneself totally to this other person. It is also a public statement about God: the loving union of husband and wife speaks of family values and also God's values. For more information please visit our Sacramental Prep page.

Holy Orders
In the Sacrament of Holy Orders, or Ordination, the priest being ordained vows to lead other Catholics by bringing them the sacraments (especially the Eucharist), by proclaiming the Gospel, and by providing other means to holiness. Deacons receive the Sacrament of Holy Orders from a bishop and are ordained not to the ministerial priesthood but to the ministry of service. Through ordination the deacon is conformed to Christ, who came to serve, not to be served.  Visit the Diocese of Fall River Vocations page for more information. 

Anointing of the Sick
The Catholic Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick,  is a ritual of healing appropriate not only for physical but also for mental and spiritual sickness. Please contact the parish office at 508-992-7505 for the Anointing of the Sick.


We are always happy to hear from you


789 Dartmouth Street
South Dartmouth, MA 02748




Monday - Friday : 9AM -5PM
Welcome Center open after all weekend Masses.


Fill out my online form.

ABOUT US.   |    CONNECT.     |    WATCH.     |     GIVE.           

Thank you to  Melissa F Photography for permission to use many of the church photos

St Mary’s Catholic Church
789 Dartmouth Street
South Dartmouth, MA 02748